Natural bookbirth..

June 12, 2010

I’ve given birth three times. The first time in a hospital with an epidural. The second time in a birth center with an aspirin. The third time with a drink of mint tea in a birthing pool in a yurt on a cliff top at sun rise. The only thing that these three births had in common was the last-minute panic.  The 15 minutes right before the child slips out into this glorious world that I say – I can´t do it. Forget it. I’m out. You are all going to have to figure out how to get this thing out. I give up. The last time I was inquiring about helicopters to save me from the cliff top. Just when I think I can’t do it, I surrender – it happens. the baby is born.

That’s how I feel right now with this project. I know it has to come out – I know it has been gestating for years (like an elephant, not a human). But doubt over comes me – the colors, the font.. will it all be ok? Can I promote this baby? Nurse it? Nurture it? Can I get this thing out myself?

Luckily, I am not birthing this by myself. James has stepped in like the superman he is.. Narae is capably and beautifully finishing the PDF’s, so with this team of three, soon 5 new books will be born.

I wish they offered an epidural for this sort of thing… 🙂

Leave a Reply

