Unexpected

June 26, 2010

I subscribe to the rule of thought that we create our own reality.

Since my first knowledge of the reproductive process, I have been extremely careful not to have an unplanned pregnancy. Excruciatingly careful.  The fear of an unplanned pregnancy dominated my thoughts for my entire reproductive life. And I do not use the word “dominated” lightly here. I could not understand how people could engage in risky behaviour. Ever.  I was obnoxiously careful still I worried.

Flash forward to just after my 40th birthday,  I had just started dating a beautiful man.  (Well, exceedingly handsome) I believed (with much relief) that I was showing signs of menopause. He at 49 was childless. In the troughs of passion I took a risk.

That is all it took for my greatest fear to manifest.

When I first met her, I whispered with great relief. “If I knew it was you, I wouldn’t have been so worried.”

She is the most delightful, adventurous, loving child.

If you are curious about her journey thus far, you can follow it on her baby book blog…


Leave a Reply

