Advertising chamomile..

September 9, 2010

The jewels are falling, Polly is collecting, Linus is losing, Tina is grooving, King David is distributing, so now what?

I get suspicious if anything grows too fast. Friendships, food, block towers. I appreciate firm foundations and ethical intentions. Fads come fast and go.

Arithmetic Village has had a gentle, slow beginning. But now I find myself with this enormous urgency to push it out into the world.

It is not surprising, my intention all along was to have this way of experiencing math concepts available to the general public.

So, now the books are printed, the activities are available, how will I let everyone know about it?

I’ve never been a fan of advertising. Especially in schools. I think it is deplorable.

I’ve found a few sites that will list Arithmetic Village as a resource in return for loading their banner on my site. I don’t want bill boards all over the village.

It’s a bit of a dilemma, really, because advertising works. Why do you think super bowl ads cost so much? Advertising does effect consumers and consumerism. But so does quality and word of mouth. It just takes longer.

So, what will I do?

Will I go for the hard sell? Will I hire out bill boards? Or will I simply plant the seed and hope that it grows like chamomile?

For now, I think I will follow my instincts and patiently plant seeds…..

4 Responses to “Advertising chamomile..”

  1. Sherri Lauer Says:

    Well I ordered mine on Amazon, and I’m going to share it with the other teachers at my school, so I’m doing what I can. I think it is probably unethical of me to promote it in the college class I teach. Maybe you should think about the NAEYC conference next year. Too bad it’s too late for this year, it’s in LA.

  2. kimberlymoore Says:

    Sherri,
    Barnes and Noble is selling them cheaper.. and I am doing special orders for strangers direct for $50 on my web site and freebees to people who write reviews on their blog. As my sister, I was just waiting for the newer versions (with out the two typos) to send you free copies….
    thanks for your support though!

    xxx

  3. Jacinda Says:

    So it looks like it may align with or at least compliment similar methods as Steiner schools may use. Perhaps you could present the concept to teachers.
    There is also Spindlewood, a shop here in Christchurch which does well at catering to the Steiner community. It may be interested in stocking it.
    Also Learnex is a resource website for homeschooling families. I don’t really use it but I know a lot of people do.

  4. kimberlymoore Says:

    Thanks Jacinda! Iĺl look up Spindlewood and learnex as soon as I sort out New Zealand distributing. and good spotting, the books were inspired by Waldorf math gnomes:)


Leave a Reply

