Ask an elephant

September 10, 2010

As I’ve been be-bopping around the internet looking for great blogs for which to advertise, I am finding these amazing little communities. I know how isolating it  can be to be at home with young children. Yes, you take them to the park, but you are still being driven by their needs, that’s the core of mothering.

We used to do this in a village, with children roaming from hut to hut, in a group with older children. When I was in Africa, the groups of Elephants were all females with children, the giraffes too. The Bulls dropped by occasionally and left again. I find this rings true to my life. I have a “herd” of women friends and we roam with our children. We met as a home school group, and with this shared focus, needed to work together closely for a year. They are now my posse. I need these relationships to maintain a healthy relationship with my “Bull”. Expecting him to meet all of my social emotional needs, is well, a hysterical thought and entirely unrealistic. He’s a Bull. That’s why I like him.

I know how lucky I am to have this herd. In this westernized world herds are harder to create and maintain. When I lived in the bay area, I created them through playgroups, but it took me time to find one that really jelled. That’s what is so great about the internet.  Groups are easier to enter and leave. Since there are soo many of them, if you look around awhile you will eventually find one that reflects your values and lifestyle. You will find people you can relate to, and finding people to relate to while raising children is essential, ask and elephant.

One Response to “Ask an elephant”

  1. Jacinda Says:

    I would say I have been most supported on my path with no school through the internet. What a wild thought! Kind of weird for me who is a touch and feel kind of person. Anyway there you have it!


Leave a Reply

