Tahiti

October 28, 2010

I’ve been thinking a lot about Tahiti lately.

I had to find in on the globe.

I knew it was in the pacific, but that’s well, a quarter of the planet.

It is to the east of me, far away, a tiny speck of islands between New Zealand and South America. Huts over the turquoise water, tropical tans, lots of tourists.

French is the native language. They kiss every greeting, on the cheeks, left and right.

I am not planning on going to Tahiti, but part of my heart is…..

My eldest daughter just got accepted into an exchange program. It is only for a month. She would live with an unknown family. And obey their rules. She will have to speak a new language and learn a new culture.

She is not sure she will go, she is concerned about money (something that sometimes gets complicated). She says if her father and I help pay for the trip, she will pay us back. She wants to pay for it by herself.

She is not sure she is ready to go, she just came back from an exchange in the US and is just getting settled back in New Zealand.

Stay, I say. Wait another year.Wait until you are 16, you’ll be more ready then. “But I’m almost 16,” she replies and smiles.

She says if she doesn’t go this year, she has convinced herself, she will never ever go. It will be a missed opportunity.

I am not one for iPhones, cars or diamonds, but I don’t like to miss an opportunity.

It seems she feels the same way.

She is starting to plan, her decision will be set in stone November 15. Her plane leaves Dec. 28th.

I will celebrate with her if she stays or if she goes, I love her no matter where she is….

3 Responses to “Tahiti”

  1. Beatle Says:

    I did a 2 week exchange to New Caledonia at Elise’s age. I was the only one in my class who agreed to stay with an indigenous family (turned out it was a French dad and a Kanak mum who lived a pretty European lifestyle). It was a fantastic experience. We made lifelong friends. It was scary, fun, wonderful and I came home dreaming in French. It was an opportunity that I am still grateful that my parents supported me to take.


  2. She is young and you are brave. It is easier to go when you are young. when you are older it takes bravery to let them go.

  3. Kimberly Says:

    This child was born competent. When she was little, her cousin called her “sparkle diamond baby”. I have regrets about not following my heart and joining the peace core in my 20’s because of fear and practicality. This regret gives me the courage to support my children to follow their dreams. (Although it is difficult.)


Leave a Reply

