Life changing book…

November 22, 2010

I was thinking about the five to one ratio and how that changed my life, and I was reminded of a pivotal book,  “The Four Agreements”. It was written by Don Miguel Ruiz.  If you haven’t read it, you should. If you don’t have time, I’ll give you the quick run down.

1. Be impeccable with your word. (Do what you say you are going to do. Don’t lie. Be true to yourself. Be honest. Say what you mean.)
2. Don’t make assumptions. (Don’t ever try to guess what someone else thinks or feels. When in doubt, ask. She gave me a dirty look– is an assumption. They wouldn’t want to go is an assumption.
3. Don’t take anything personally. Really. Ever. (Someone thinks you are an idiot, don’t take it personally – they probably think most people are idiots. Someone didn’t invite you to their party? It’s about them. “I hate you” is more about someone else not getting what they want. Someone doesn’t like your shirt, they simply don’t like your shirt, or your hair cut. It is not about YOU. The reverse is true. If someone loves your shirt, they simply love your shirt. It is not personal. They simply have a style that reflects yours. If someone thinks you are smart and wonderful, it is not personal either, it is just a reflection of their own beliefs and values. This is a very big one and my biggest life lessons. Don’t take anything personal. Really, we are all just living our lives, it is not about you -or me.
4. Always do your best. Everyday. And everyday your best will be different. Some days you might not be impeccable with your word. Some days you may make assumptions, Some days you may take things personally. Tomorrow maybe you can do better.

I guess I needed to remind myself of this today, I hope it helps you as well.

4 Responses to “Life changing book…”

  1. Jacinda Says:

    Thanks for this. It does help.


  2. I really liked this book. I sometimes wish living was as easy as reading. But…being reminded of things like this while reading is why I read. Then I can do better for a while. : )

  3. kimberlymoore Says:

    Mary Ann, I find it is like a muscle that needs flexing and gets stronger. I really do have to practice the “don’t take anything personally” bit often! 🙂


  4. Wow, this is really good. Slowly I’m taking things less personally and getting more comfortable with who I am. I’ll have to check out this book. Thanks for the post.


Leave a Reply

