Color me happy.

November 26, 2010

This past weekend, I attended a workshop by Kate about color in childhood. My friend and her daughter joined in and it was such a lovely way to spend an afternoon!

First we explored some color theory and then spend some time painting with wet on wet. As I was painting peacefully and meditatively,I finally understood the process. The experience was calming, so different from having a piece of paper in front of me and having a preplanned idea of the outcome. As we painted in silence I think for the first time I truly felt what the teachers describe as  “in breath” . There was no time period. There was no expectation. There was no wrong way. Only the ability to choose colors and watch what they do when placed on the paper. Watch how the color moved. Watch the colors slowly blend and change. How frustrating this activity can be for children and parents who are programmed to believe that we must fully control the outcome. People whose only experience with color is having to place it in-between black lines.

We had delicious tea and cakes and talked, then moved on to dyeing muslin cloths for the kindy. Muslin because it is light and see through and flowing. It can be wings, a cape, a puppet. It can be a meadow or a river for as story. The color changes in the light it moves. It is etherial.

It was a lovely afternoon and filled my heart with affirmation that a slow gentle childhood is right way to raise my children. I know the time intellectual development will come, but for now, at four, I want my daughter to be surrounded by nature, stories and color.

4 Responses to “Color me happy.”

  1. Rosie Says:

    YUM colour. Check out the Red Shed in the next little while if you can. I just hung the Summer Holiday show – main room of gallery, and its all about colour. And…I’ve got three new, red, pictures in it. Weekends 10 – 4!
    Lots of love Rosie


  2. Oh this sounds like a wonderful afternoon, doing just what children love best – the process. The outcome matters to adults but I, like you, feel most free when I can let the outcome go and just enjoy the process.

  3. Jennifer Says:

    As an early childhood professional, I fully support the philosophy of the process rather than the end product. It’s like life… is what you become at the end important? Or is it the experiences, trials, and the journey that matters? I think the answer is the latter. Without the process there’s no end product.

    So dip your brush, unleash the colour, breathe and enjoy the beauty of life. You are giving your daughter a wonderful gift.

    • Kimberly Says:

      Thanks Jennifer. I was an early childhood as well. Thank goodness, all of that training has sure paid off raising my three daughters. (I wish the degree went all the way through teens though 🙂 )


Leave a Reply

