Book Blessing.

November 30, 2010

I went. Full of doubt, but highly organized. I brought my treasure chest of jewels. A box of book sets. Costumes and table cloths. Glue and glitter and stickers. I even practiced reading the book that I have written. I went. I thought I should have stayed on the island and had a market stall at the local School fair. But I went. I was given an opportunity to have a book launch at the Wise Cicada and Goodies Book Store. My instincts said to go, despite my fears. I guess I’m not such an extrovert after all.

I was relieved when I found the Santa Parade happening at the same time on the other side of town.  It was an easy trip over. I had a lovely team of support. My eldest daughter -my biggest fan- and her friend graciously dressed up as did James and Zuva. (She was Rover the King’s dog). We set up in no time at all. We ate a delicious vegan, raw food lunch (free). We held a circle and blessed the project. Daring Donna, who was there when I shared the idea at a writing workshop four years ago, said some kind words of support. We all held the intention. The intention that Arithmetic Village holds- to offer a beautiful, gentle introduction to the basic math concepts.

A few children came in, we decorated treasure chests. The characters went around the cafe and talked. A Montessori teacher came in and talked with me for a while and took home three sets. Everything went beautifully and gently. I built confidence. Now, I know I can do it. It was not intended to be a big sell-a-thon.  It was intended to be a book awakening, a blessing, to bring Arithmetic Village to the public And that’s exactly what happened.

The books are now christened. 

5 Responses to “Book Blessing.”

  1. Rosie Says:

    YEAH – Well done, they are on their way! XXR


  2. These new ventures take a special kind of bravery as I am finding out! Good for you!!!!! and congratulations.


  3. Yeah! Glad to hear it!! I’m finding similar hesistations in my life. I used to be so bold and brave. Now I am comfortable. Too comfortable. We should all break out of our comfort zones and try something new. Bravo!


  4. Congratulations, Kimberly. Thanks for visiting and commenting on my blog. I find yours very peaceful and engaging. Very meditative, actually. And I love the way you write. I subscribed, too.

  5. Jacinda Says:

    Beautiful. Blessings to the books and you the courageous writer who trusts and has courageous. Sounds like a special space.


Leave a Reply

