Perfect Moments

January 11, 2011

I’ve been busy this year. preoccupied. Even on our eight days away, I found myself worrying about dinner and lunch and cleaning and managing the kids. Sometimes even managing James. Impatient to get here, to go there, to do this and that.

But earlier this evening, I experienced something different. Something I used to experience a lot. A perfect moment. When the world stops and for a littletime, however brief, you sit with gratitude and soak it all in. Life. The life you created.
James had just told me how beautiful I am, that helped I suppose, especially for a woman in the throes of menopause. My littlest one was giggling, my new teenager ate well and was going to bed early and my eldest finally contacted us from Tahiti to let us know she was busy and happy.

The sun was setting out the window and this song came on in the bedroom. I flopped on the bed and listened all of the way through staring at the clouds. Soaking in the peacefulness.

Life is made of perfect moments. This year I hope to slow down and notice more of them.

One Response to “Perfect Moments”

  1. Rosie Says:

    You know honey, you do give yourself a really hard time. There is so no need. you do a great job of life and mothering. Love Rosie


Leave a Reply

