Never too full….

February 22, 2011

On my plate:

My plate is usually full with my 3 beautiful children, Arithmetic Village, 1 handsome man, 2 baby ducks (who still need fresh water and food and supervision), 2 chickens, 2 cats.

My plate is extra full the next two weeks with planning a party for fifty guests for my daughter’s 16th birthday, getting all of the donations for the schools Harvest Fair (including all of the raffles), hosting a welcome meeting as Parent co-ordinator of the preschool and planning to somehow re-illustrate all five books in an amazing whimsical way and I am not an illustrator.

All this and my computer died and I am working on an older one which is totally unorganized.

Please forgive my inconstant or incoherent posts..:)

I was searching for a photo for this post, I found myself staring at the picture on my desk and the full plate of this boy.

I took this picture in Zimbabwe 2006. Our van stopped for some fruit. Approximately 30 people jumped up at the sight of our car, surrounding it to sell us fruit. Usually it is first come first serve, but I saw this young boy from far away, he saw the van first, but was not as fast as the rest. When I met his eyes he looked discouraged. I would only eat his apples. This photo still haunts me. I don’t know why it breaks my heart so, but it does.

Yes, my plate is full. Thank goodness for that.

One Response to “Never too full….”

  1. James Samuel Says:

    I remember that moment – I took the photo. And yes, how privileged and humbled I felt all at the same time, what an odd mix of emotions.


Leave a Reply

