But….

April 13, 2011

I don’t know where I first heard it, probably TV psycho-babble.  It is something that stuck with me and has changed the way I communicate. I enjoy listening to other people use it in conversation and I pay extra close attention when I use the word.

What is it?

BUT.

When you say “but”, it really means,”Please disregard what I just said, now I’m going to tell you what I really think…”.

As in “I like your dress, but the back is too low” or “I see your point, but I think…” or “I would never take your dog, but if it follows me….”

Do yourselves a favor and only listen to the second half of the sentence, after anyone says the word “but”. Especially, listen you yourself, if you use it often.

3 Responses to “But….”

  1. Rosie Says:

    Very Byron Katie!

  2. Sherri Lauer Says:

    I love reading your posts, BUT…this one was a little preachy! 🙂


Leave a Reply

