Free ride.

July 15, 2011

I’m not entirely comfortable with public transport. In my other world it was not something someone took on the way to the opera, as it is in this world.

I still second guess the simple journey it takes for me to go from the ferry terminal to my daughter’s school of six years.
Last night was no different. As hordes of harry potter type uniforms spilled out of the bus, I approached the bus driver.
“Does this bus go to Ponsonby?”
“Yes, kind of, I’m now off duty”
“Ok” I say as I back off the bus.
“But if you want a ride, I could drop you off on the way to the depot, it’s on my way, but it will have to be free.” He smiled.

I know what you are all thinking. Run. Run from the good-looking stranger driving the bus. It’s a trap. Don’t be naive.

I sat down anyway and he exited the bus. “I’ll be back in a few minutes” he said.

I looked at the keys in the bus ignition.

“I promise not to steal it,” I yelled as he exited.

Sitting alone in a huge bus in the middle of a busy city gave me a few minutes to rethink this decision.

I got out, looked for another bus, then got in again. I went through all of the possible scenarios in my head. Maybe he is on his break doing crack. I got out of the bus again.

I tried to remind myself that there is in this life, love and fear. And that this new world is different, it could be different. But I have to give it a chance.

The bus Driver got back on the bus again and looked for me. I came up the stairs behind him.

“Where do you go in Ponsonby?”

We got clear that he was driving right by my stop.

I got in, he drove.

“It’s not often that you get a private bus in Auckland” I say to him.

He smiled, “No problem, I’m going that way anyway.”

Then we talked about my daughter’s school, religion, politics and tennis.

Then he dropped me off.

I looked him in the eye and said, “Thanks. You restored my faith in humanity.”

He chuckled and said, “I guess its good to do that every now and again.”

So, there you have it folks, there is such thing as a free ride.

One Response to “Free ride.”


  1. You just never cease to amaze me. I would have done just as you. A kindred spirit!


Leave a Reply

