ready or not…

November 13, 2011

Her bag is packed. She has been planning this for weeks.

Behind my back.

She is ready. She has her toothbrush, pajamas, hairbrush, snack and stuffed puppy. In her mind it is a done deal.

But she is five.

She arranged the sleepover invitation to Zoe’s by herself. After many meetings on the playground and in the hammock.

She has dreamed about this for years, well, five years. It is time.

(But I am not ready.)

My other daughters waited until they were closer to seven or eight. But this one is ready now, she says, over and over.

She sleeps well, and is totally fine in new situations. She knows she has never slept with out her mother or her father near. She doesn’t care.

(I do.)

But, it’s not about me.

Off she goes…ready or not.

2 Responses to “ready or not…”


  1. Sometimes growing up is harder for the big person than the little person. We are never quite ready! At least it is for overnight and not forever. : )

  2. kimberlymoore Says:

    Wise words, Mary Ann! When I first became pregnant with an 11 year and 8 year gap, people said how great it was that I had a little one again. The last few years, watching my 16 year old plan her life, I am deeply grateful that I have extended my parenting life with my littlest one!


Leave a Reply

