Angels

December 2, 2011

“I have a request” she started the phone call friendly, but firm. “My request is : When we are talking at staff meetings, could you please use the word we instead of I when explaining the changes at the center? It is only fair since we share the job and are working together. ”   Then, she sat on the line perfectly patiently until I answered her question affirmatively.

This was the beginning of my journey into becoming a trustworthy woman.

Now, this woman could have said to me, ” Look you little egocentric snot, lay off the ego trip and get over yourself. We were hired to run this infant toddler center together, let’s get on with it.” But she didn’t. She role modeled grace and dignity and cooperation. She was exactly who I needed to work with. I was a dreamer, she was a doer. And together we turned around a dingy dysfunctional childcare and got it accredited by NAEYC within a year.

It was that relationship that encouraged me to always have a circle of women around to support my journey through motherhood and age and life. There are some people who are angels put on this planet at the perfect time to teach you a perfect lesson.

Today I send gratitude to all of those angels.. and there are many…

One Response to “Angels”

  1. Rosie Says:

    I am teaching everyone I know “I have a request” and I credit you!


Leave a Reply

